CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Bristol-Myers Squibb Award Goes to Folkman

Bristol-Myers Squibb Award Goes to Folkman

NEW YORK--Judah Folkman, MD, who first theorized that tumors form and metastasize by means of angiogenesis, is the winner of the 18th annual Bristol-Myers Squibb Award for Distinguished Achievement in Cancer Research.

In 1971, Dr. Folkman reported the isolation of the first angiogenic factor, a substance that induces blood vessel growth. In 1984, he and his colleagues Yuen Shing and Michael Klagsbrun purified the first tumor-derived angiogenic factor, and Dr. Folkman later discovered the first angiogenesis inhibitor.

Dr. Folkman is Julia Dyckman Andrus Professor of Pediatric Surgery, Harvard Medical School, and director of the Surgical Research Laboratory, Children's Hospital, Boston.

The company also announced the recipients of the 1995 Bristol-Myers Squibb Unrestricted Cancer Research Grants--Indiana University Cancer Center and the National Cancer Institute, Milan.

Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.