CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Six Named to National Cancer Advisory Board

Six Named to National Cancer Advisory Board

WASHINGTON—President Clinton has named six new members to the National Cancer Advisory Board, which advises the president, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, and the director of the National Cancer Institute on policies and activities at NCI.

The appointees, named to 6-year terms on the 18-member board, are:

  • Elmer Huerta, MD, a cancer prevention specialist at the Washington Hospital Center, Washington, DC, and the host of Spanish-language radio and television programs on health.

  • Susan M. Love, MD, adjunct professor of surgery, UCLA School of Medicine, medical director of the Santa Barbara Breast Cancer Institute, and author of Dr. Susan Love’s Breast Book.

  • James McGreevey, JD, Mayor of Woodbridge Township, NJ, and chairman of the New Jersey Democratic Leadership Council.

  • Arthur Nienhuis, MD, director of the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and professor of pediatrics and medicine, University of Tennessee School of Medicine. Dr. Nienhuis, a hematologist, served as deputy clinical director at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute from 1976 to 1993.

  • Larry Norton, MD, head of the Division of Solid Tumor Oncology, Memorial Sloan-Kettering, and professor of Medicine, Cornell University Medical College. Dr. Norton also serves as president of the National Alliance of Breast Cancer Organizations (NABCO).

  • Amelie Ramirez, DPH, associate professor of medicine and associate director of the Center for Cancer Control Research, Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Ramirez is principal investigator of the National Hispanic Leadership Initiative on Cancer, a program funded by the National Cancer Institute.

Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.