CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who’s News

Who’s News


Walter Curran, Jr., MD, has been awarded the inaugural Lawrence W. Davis Chair of Radiation Oncology at Atlanta’s Emory University School of Medicine. Dr. Curran is chairman of the department of radiation oncology and medical director of the Emory Winship Cancer Institute.






Susan Band Horwitz, PhD, a distinguished professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University in New York, has received a Medal of Honor for Clinical Research from the American Cancer Society. Dr. Horwitz also serves as the Falkenstein Professor of Cancer Research and co-chair of the department of molecular pharmacology. Other 2008 ACS medal winners are Sen. Edward Kennedy of Massachusetts (cancer control), Mina J. Bissell, PhD, from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the University of California, Berkeley (basic research), and Jon M. Huntsman, founder and chairman of Huntsman Corporation (cancer philanthropy).

Maura Gillison, MD, PhD, has joined Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center-James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute as a professor of medicine. Dr. Gillison, a human papilloma virus (HPV) expert, will also be a member of the Cancer Control and Viral Oncology Programs at the Columbus-based university. In addition, she will hold the Jeg Coughlin Chair in Cancer Research.


Lodovico Balducci, MD, will be awarded the Claude Jacquillat Award for Achievement in Clinical Oncology at the 2009 International Congress on Anti-Cancer Treatment in Paris. Dr. Balducci is chief of senior adult oncology at H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Fla.

Hidenori Ichijo, PhD, and Hiroyuki Mano, MD, PhD, were presented with the 2008 JCA-Mauvernay Award by Debiopharm Group for outstanding basic and applied research work in oncology. The awards were given at the Japanese Cancer Association conference in Nagoya. Dr. Ichijo is from the graduate school of pharmaceutical sciences at the University of Tokyo. Dr. Mano is from the functional genomics division at Jichi Medical University in Shimotsuke.

Douglas Easton, PhD, received the inaugural American Association for Cancer Research Outstanding Investigator Award in Breast Cancer Research. Dr. Easton, director of the Cancer Research UK Genetic Epidemiology Unit in the department of public health and primary care at the University of Cambridge, received the award for his studies on the genetic patterns and causes of BRCA mutations.




Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.