CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who's News

Who's News

Around Town

Barbara Goff, MD, has been selected by the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund to lead the Ovarian Cancer Symptoms Study. The appointment was made at the 2009 Gynecologic Oncologists Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer in San Antonio. Dr. Goff is director of gynecologic oncology at the University of Washington in Seattle. The study will build on previous research, led by Dr. Goff, which formed the basis for the 2007 Consensus Statement on Ovarian Cancer Symptoms.

Enrico Mihich, MD, from the department of pharmacology and therapeutics at Ros-well Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, N.Y., has been named a fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science. Dr. Mihich was chosen for his contributions to the fields of immunopharmacology, immunotherapy, and cancer therapeutics, particularly the potential importance of molecular targets on immune cells.

Sharmila Makhija, MD, has been appointed director of gynecologic oncology at Atlanta’s Emory University School of Medicine and Emory Winship Cancer Institute. Dr. Makhija previously served as an associate professor of gynecology/oncology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and an associate scientist in the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center.

George R. Simon, MD, is the new director of thoracic oncology at Philadelphia’s Fox Chase Cancer Center. Dr. Simon comes to Fox Chase from the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute in Tampa, Fla. In other appointments, Holly Dushkin, MD, has rejoined Fox Chase as an attending physician in the medical oncology department. Dr. Dushkin was previously based at Annapolis Oncology Center and Anne Arundel Medical Center in Annapolis, Md. Finally, Michael John Hall, MD, an assistant professor of medicine at New York City’s Columbia University and an assistant professor of epidemiology at the Mailman School of Public Health, has come to Fox Chase as an attending physician in the medical oncology department.

The American Cancer Society named Victor G. Vogel, MD, the new national vice president for research. Dr. Vogel has served as a professor of medicine and epidemiology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, where he was also codirector of the Magee-Womens Hospital/University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute Biochemoprevention Program.


Several overseas investigators have received ASCO Cancer Foundation Merit Awards. The winners are Achim Rody, MD, from J.W. Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany; Karijn P. Suijkerbuijk, MD, at the University Medical Center Utrecht, the Netherlands; Rosa M. Michel, MD, and David Saavedra, MD, from Instituto Nacional de Cancerologa, Mexico City; Daniel S. Tan, MRCP, from National Cancer Centre Singapore; and AB Rashid R. Mir, PhD, at All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi. The awards, totaling $19,000, were presented at the 2008 Annual Meeting on Molecular Markers in Cancer in Alexandria, Va.

Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.