CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who's News

Who's News


ASTRO has named radiologist N. Reed Dunnick, MD, as its 2010 honorary member. Dr. Dunnick is the Fred Jenner Hodges Professor and Chair of the department of radiology at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. He will be recognized with this honor at ASTRO 2010. In other ASTRO news, the organization has awarded Junior Faculty Career Research Training Awards to Andrew Elia, MD, PhD, of Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston and Steven Lin, MD, PhD, of M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. This is a two-year award in the amount of $100,000 per year. This year's recipients of the Residents/Fellows in Radiation Oncology Research Seed Grant Awards are Eileen Connolly, MD, PhD, Langone Medical Center, New York University in New York; Heath Skinner, MD, PhD, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center; Meng Welliver, MD, PhD, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. The grants are awarded for a one-year project and are in amounts of up to $25,000 each.

Rebecca Cook, PhD, assistant professor of cancer biology at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center in Nashville, Tenn., has been awarded a $450,000 breast cancer research grant from Susan G. Komen for the Cure. Dr. Cook and her colleagues are investigating the mechanisms that contribute to trastuzumab (Herceptin) resistance and studying HER3-target therapy as a way to overcome this resistance.
Steven Devine, MD, will serve as the chair of the Cancer and Leukemia Group B (CALGB) transplant modality committee. Dr. Devine is the director of the blood and marrow transplant program at Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center—Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute in Columbus.
ASTRO has bestowed 2010 Educator of the Year Awards on the following physicians: Sushil Beriwal, MD, University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, Pittsburgh;Barry M. Berner, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston;Sundershan K. Bhatia, MD, PhD, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City;Kevin A. Camphausen, MD, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Md.;Linda W. Chan, MD, University California Irvine, Orange, Calif.;Kwang N. Choi, MD, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center, New York; Anees Dhabbaan, PhD, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta; Mohamed A. Elshaikh, MD, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit;Bahman Emami, MD, FASTRO, Loyola University, Maywood, Ill.;Gary M. Freedman, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia;Steven J. Feigenberg, MD, University of Maryland Medical Center, Baltimore. Radiation oncology residents at each institution submitted the nominations for this award.
Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.