CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who's News

Who's News


David S. Alberts, MD, has received the 2010 Clinical Research Award from the Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC). Dr. Alberts is Regents Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology, Nutritional Science, and Public Health at the University of Arizona College of Medicine in Tucson and director of the Arizona Cancer Center.  He received his award at the ACCC’s 2010 National Oncology Economics Conference.
Nicholas Vogelzang, MD, has been honored by the Kidney Cancer Association with the Eugene P. Schonfeld Award. Dr. Vogelzang is a medical oncologist with Comprehensive Cancer Centers of Nevada in Las Vegas. He also serves as chair of the developmental therapeutics committee for US Oncology Research and is a member of the US Oncology research executive committee.
Martin "Mac" Cheever, MD, is the recipient of the U01 NIH grant that will fund the Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network (CITN). Dr. Cheever is the director of solid tumor research at Seattle’s Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and a professor of medicine/oncology at the University of Washington. Approximately $14 million of grant money has been budgeted for CITN over a five-year period.
ASTRO has bestowed 2010 Educator of the Year Awards on the following physicians: Ashwatha Narayana, MD, New York University in New York; Kapila J. Parikh, MD, New York Methodist Hospital in New York; Ivy A. Peterson, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.; Dolly Razdan, MD, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey—Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick; Mark A. Ritter, MD, PhD, University of Wisconsin Madison; Christopher F. Serago, PhD, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla; David J. Sher, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women's Hospital/Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston; David L. Sherr, MD, MPH, New York Hospital Queens/Weill Cornell Medical Center, New York; Helen A. Shih, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston; Timothy N. Showalter, MD, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia; Anurag K. Singh, MD, Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, N.Y.; Danny Y. Song, MD, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore; Gayle E. Woloschak, PhD, Northwestern University Memorial Hospital, Chicago; Jean L. Wright, MD, University of Miami; Ping Xia, PhD, Cleveland Clinic; Li-Xi Yang, MD, PhD, California Pacific Medical Center, San Francisco. Radiation oncology residents at each institution submitted the nominations for this award.
Napoleone Ferrara, MD, has received the 2010 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award. Dr. Ferrara, a native of Italy, is a fellow at Genentech specializing in tumor biology and angiogenesis. He is being honored for his discovery that vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) is a major mediator of angiogenesis, and for developing an effective anti-VEGF therapy for wet macular degeneration, a leading cause of blindness in the elderly. The award is given by the Lasker Foundation.
ESMO has bestowed the following awards at its 2010 meeting: The 2010 ESMO Award to Alberto Costa, MD, European School of Oncology in Milan; the Hamilton Fairley Award to Bengt Glimelius, MD, PhD, Akademisk Sjuhuset in Uppsala, Sweden; the 2010 ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award to Alan H. Calvert, MD, UCL Cancer Institute – University College London.
Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.