CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who's News

Who's News


Brian D. Kavanagh, MD, MPH, has been selected to serve a four-year-term on the advisory panel of the Ambulatory Payment Classification (APC) groups for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Dr. Kavanagh is a radiation oncologist at the University of Colorado Hospital in Denver. His term began in October 2010 and will end in September 2014.
ASTRO named new members to its board of directors at ASTRO 2010. The new board consists of President Michael L. Steinberg, MD, from the University of California, Los Angeles; Secretary/Treasurer  Phillip M. Devlin, MD, from Boston’s Brigham and Women's Hospital; Education Council Vice-chair Laura A. Dawson, MD, from Toronto’s Princess Margaret Hospital; and Government Relations Council Vice-chair Bharat Mittal, MD, from Chicago’s Northwestern Memorial Hospital.
The American College of Epidemiology honored Leslie Bernstein, PhD, with its 2010 Abraham Lilienfeld Award. Dr. Bernstein is the director of division of cancer etiology at City of Hope in Duarte, Calif. She leads the City of Hope’s research on the genetic, lifestyle, and environmental causes of cancer to identify new prevention strategies. Her research interests include breast cancer, esophageal adenocarcinoma, and non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.
ASTRO bestowed several awards on international radiation oncologists at ASTRO 2010. Hiromitsu Iwata, MD, from Nagoya City University in Nagoya, Japan, Qifeng Wang, MD, from Bejing, and Jian-Dong Zhang, MD, from Shandong University in Jinan, China, received Resident Poster Viewing Awards. Louis Archambault, PhD, from Centre Hospitalier in Quebec City received a Basic Science Scientific Abstract Award. Annual Meeting Scientific Abstract Awards were given to Catherine Coolens, PhD, and Anand Swaminath, MD, from Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto; Corinne Doll, MD, from Tom Baker Cancer Institute in Calgary, Canada; Kathryn Graham, BSc, MB, ChB, from Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre in Glasgow; Scott Morgan, MD, from University of Ottawa in Ontario, Canada; and Gelareh Zadeh, MD, PhD, University of Toronto in Ontario, Canada.

Klaus Pantel, MD, PhD, and Alan Ashworth, PhD, will be honored at SABCS 2010. Dr. Pantel will receive the 2010 AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research. Dr. Ashworth will deliver the 2010 AACR Distinguished Lectureship in Breast Cancer Research. Dr. Pantel is a professor at the Institute of Tumor Biology, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf in Germany. Dr. Ashworth is the director of the Breakthrough Research Centre at the Institute of Cancer Research in London.

Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.