CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who's News

Who's News


The AACR has appointed George Prendergast, PhD, as the editor-in-chief of Cancer Research. He is the president and CEO of Lankenau Institute for Medical Research in Wynnewood, Penn., and previously served as a senior editor and deputy editor for the journal. Dr. Prendergast will take up the five-year editorship in January 2010.

Fox Chase Cancer Center has added Yun Shin Chun, MD (left), and Jeffrey M. Farma, MD, as attending surgeons in the department of surgical oncology. Dr. Chun comes to the Philadelphia institute from Houston’s M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, where she was a clinical specialist in surgical oncology. Dr. Farma comes to Fox Chase from the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Fla., where he completed his clinical surgical oncology fellowship.

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has announced its 2009 fellows, who will be honored at ASTRO 2009 in Chicago. They are: Ross Abrams, MD, from Rush University in Chicago; Beatriz E. Amendola, MD, from the Innovative Cancer Institute, in South Miami, Fla.; Mark W. Dewhirst, DVM, PhD, from Duke University Medical Center in Durham, N.C.; Ronald V. Dorn III, MD, from Mountain States Tumor Institute in Boise, Idaho; Joseph S. Kong, MD, from the Cancer Center of Southeast Texas in Port Arthur; Jay S. Loeffler, MD, from Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston; Minesh P. Mehta, MD, from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine in Madison; James B. Mitchell, PhD, from the National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, Md.; John E. Moulder, PhD, from the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee; Sara Rockwell, PhD, from Yale University School of Medicine in New Haven, Conn.; and Jeffrey Y.C. Wong, MD (above), from City of Hope Cancer Center in Duarte, Calif.

The Radiation Therapy Oncology Group has a new senior statistician: Q. Ed Zhang, PhD, will lead the center’s head and neck cancer and sarcoma research team. Prior to joining RTOG, Dr. Zhang was a biostatistician in the pediatrics department at George Washington University School of Medicine in Washington, DC, and a principal biostatistician at GlaxoSmithKline.


The Melanoma Research Alliance announced $6.9 million in awards to support multidisciplinary teams pursuing novel outcomes-driven melanoma research. This year’s international team members are Nicolas Hayward, PhD, from Queensland Institute of Medical Research in Australia; Goran Jonsson, PhD, from Lund University in Sweden; Graham Mann, PhD, from the University of Sydney; Jonathan Cebon, PhD, Sacha Gnjatic, PhD, and Lloyd J. Old, MD, from the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research; Alexander M. M. Eggermont, MD, PhD, from the Daniel den Hoed Cancer Center in Rotterdam, the Netherlands; Dirk Jger, MD, from University Hospital Heidelberg in Germany; Elke Jger, PhD, from Goethe University in Frankfurt, Germany; and Alexander Knuth, MD, from the University of Zurich.

Francoise Meunier, MD, PhD, FRCP, director general of the EORTC (left), was given the Pezcoller-ECCO Recognition for Contribution to Oncology by the European Cancer Organization. An ECCO award for clinical research was bestowed on R.J. Heald, OBE M.Chir., FRCS. Dr. Heald is the surgical director of the Pelican Cancer Centre in Basingstoke, UK. Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (h.c.), AACR CEO, received a lifetime achievement award.

Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.