CN Mobile Logo

Search form


Who's News

Who's News

Around Town

Heather Christofk, PhD, (left) received a 2010 Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award from the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation. The award, which includes a $450,000 grant over three years, is given to early-career scientists whose work has impacted cancer prevention, diagnosis, and treatment. Dr. Christofk is an assistant professor of molecular and medical pharmacology at the Jonsson Cancer Center, University of California, Los Angeles.
The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network and the AACR have awarded Zeshaan A. Rasheed, MD, PhD (below right), with the 2010 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network-AACR Pathway to Leadership Grant. Dr. Rasheed is a medical oncology fellow at the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore. The grant totals $600,000 over five years and will support Dr. Rasheed’s research on cancer stem cells in pancreatic adenocarcinoma. The grant will be awarded at the 2010 AACR meeting in Washington, DC.
Edward Partridge, MD, has been named president-elect of the national board of directors of the American Cancer Society. Dr. Partridge is director of the University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center. He also serves as chair of the cervical cancer screening guidelines panel for the NCCN. He will take office in November 2010.
Paul A. Bunn Jr., MD, was honored by the AACR and the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer for his research and leadership at the 2010 Molecular Origins of Lung Cancer Conference. Dr. Bunn is professor of medicine, and the James Dudley chair in cancer research, at the University of Colorado in Denver.
The Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (OICR) in Toronto has appointed Franklin D. Stonebanks as vice president, commercialization, and as chief commercial office. Mr. Stonebanks was the founder and managing partner of Blackcomb Advisors, a global advisory firm in life sciences and healthcare information technology. He also founded and served as the executive director of the oncology biologics business unit at Centocor. The OICR also has named Nicole Onetto, MD (left), as deputy director. Most recently, Dr. Onetto was the senior vice president and chief medical officer of ZymoGenetics.  
Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.